Friday, March 27, 2009


Umno, the country's largest political party is currently undergoing a leadership change. Datuk Seri Najib Tun Razak has been declared president at the on-going Umno general assembly after he won the post uncontested.
At yesterday's election party delegates picked a deputy president, three vice presidents and 25 supreme council members.
Tan Sri Muhyiddin Yassin has been picked as party number two. The three veeps are filled by Datuk Seri Ahmad Zahid Hamidi, Datuk Seri Hishammuddin Tun Hussein and Datuk Seri Shafie Apdal.
The 25 supreme council seats has quite a few new faces. This would eventually lead to a cabinet reshuffle and judging from the results yesterday expect the reshuffle to be a major.
To all the winners of yesterday's elections, a hearty congratulations.

Monday, March 23, 2009


MIC President Datuk Seri S. Samy Vellu was re-elected as party chief for another term -- 2009/2012. He was returned unopposed yesterday after presidential nomination closed at noon. His intended contender Datuk M. Muthupalaniappan could not contest as his nominations were in violation of the party constitution and the presidential election by-laws, according to presidential election steering committee head Datuk K. Vijayanathan. This would be the incumbent president's 11th consecutive term. He has vowed that this would his last term as president.
I know everyone knows about these facts and I know some nasty comments are just waiting to be fired. Please ensure your comments do not carry any disrespectful overtures. I welcome suggestions and constructive criticisms if any. Thank you.