Wednesday, August 27, 2008


Anwar Ibrahim has made it to Parliament. Yesterday, he won the Permatang Pauh parliamentary seat beating a BN candidate and an independent hopeful. He would be sworn in tomorrow and would make his return to Parliament after a 10-year hiatus on Friday, when Prime Minister Datuk Seri Abdullah Ahmad Badawi tables the 2009 Budget. The proceedings on Friday starts around 4pm and would be telecast live on national TV. The PKR leader has vowed that he would watch the budget with intent. All the best!

Below are results of the by-election.

Anwar Ibrahim (PKR): 31,195 votes
Arif Shah Omar Shah (BN): 15,524 votes
Hanafi Mamat (Ind): 92 votes
Spoilt votes: 447 votes
Turnout: 47,258 or 81% of the total number of registered voters in the constituency.
Majority: 15,671 votes (higher than the 13,388 vote majority obtained by Wan Azizah Wan Ismail at the March 2008 elections)